"Friend of Apricity"

Last Online
    01-03-2022 @ 06:38 PM
    Meta-Ethnicity
    Germanic, Celtic
    Ethnicity
    Northwestern European-American
    Ancestry
    Great Britain (early 17th c.), Ireland (19th c.), Elsaß Germany (19th c.)
    Country
    United States
    Region
    Illinois
    Y-DNA
    I1
    mtDNA
    H
    Taxonomy
    Atlantic
    Politics
    Wählt Sozialdemokratisch! 🌹
    Hero
    Aldous Huxley
    Religion
    Hindu - Shakta (शाक्तं)
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 5,782
    Given: 5,353

0 Not allowed!

Question Law Degrees and Overseas

I am in a bit of a pickle at this time in my life. I graduated less than a year ago, and I'm stuck trying to figure out what to do. I moved to Boston after graduation, and the job market here is terrible. I moved here initially planning to relax, seeing what would come my way for 1 - 2 years. With a B.A. in History, and a Mittelstufe certificate in German from the Goethe Institute, I have only the slightest amount of work experience.

I am in need of a practical certification, so tomorrow I am applying to the Boston Language Institute to get Teaching English as a Foreign Language Certification. Knowing the ins and outs of English grammar, cases, and terminology will help me in the long run as I have a great interest in languages, but I need to have a more solid foundation in linguistic terminology in order to fully be able to learn more languages.

Thing is, I have been playing with the idea of going to Law school. There is more job security and a goodly possibility of a high salary. Sir William Jones, founder of the Royal Asiatic Society (while stationed in Calcutta, Bengal, India he learned many Indic languages including Hindustani and Sanskrit) went to law school after he realised that the fact that just because he was an expert in Germanic languistics did not mean that he could "conjugate verbs for food" as it were. Many learned men famous for other things got law degrees.