PDA

View Full Version : Bulgaria and Its women

hajduk
04-12-2010, 08:38 AM
I found this interesting article today

Bulgaria and its women
by Hester Donaldson Jenkins
In April 1915 National Geographic published an article about Bulgaria’s women. Thus, after Bulgaria’s defeat in the Second Balkan War, Mrs. Hester Donaldson Jenkins, a professor of long standing at the American College for Girls in Istanbul, created another image of the country, not one of military courage. She offered the readers a portrait of the Bulgarian woman in the village
and in the city, along with observations on the character of the people, the traditions and the progress of the country.

Among the Oriental girls with whom I lived in my nine years’ residence in the Near East, none interested me more than the Bulgarians. They are perhaps the least Oriental of the eight or more nationalities to be found in Constantinople College, of which I was a professor.
They are fairer and brighter in coloring than the Armenians, Greeks, or Persians, rather taller and larger on an average, and have more energy and less languor than the Turk.
Bulgarian girls incline to roundness of contour and figure, many of them having round, full face, ripe, rosy mouths, and dimples. This effect is heightened by the fashion of wearing the hair in braids wound about the head. One sees plenty of dark hair in Bulgaria, but one also looks with
pleasure on warm brown tints, chestnut tresses, and occasional auburn heads. One of the most beautiful girls I ever saw was a Bulgarian, with a glorious mass of copper-colored waves, a clear pale skin, handsomely set gray eyes, a delicate mouth, and small white teeth, and the height
and carriage of a princess.
The bright cheeks that so many of the Bulgarians have are a pleasant change from the dark or pale skins of the Armenians and Greeks. Their eyes are generally less large and languorous than Oriental eyes, looking you squarely in the face, with more frankness and less seduction.