PDA

View Full Version : Fees for services?

Loki
02-20-2015, 01:12 AM
In order to limit work for admins, perhaps we should charge a small fee for things like name changes and requested temporary bans?

It could be a good way also to raise money for the website's running costs.

I would appreciate your feedback on this proposal. Could it be morally justifiable to charge $5 for each of those actions? These are not critical matters but it is luxury treatment.

Your thoughts please :)

Alchemysta
02-20-2015, 01:15 AM
It's a good idea

alfieb
02-20-2015, 01:18 AM
I have no experience with charging for services.

All that I know about the subject is that you already tried charging for name changes in 2013 or 2014 and reversed the policy.

Loki
02-20-2015, 01:25 AM
All that I know about the subject is that you already tried charging for name changes in 2013 or 2014 and reversed the policy.

Yes, at the time I decided not to go ahead with it. But I'm reconsidering now, due to a large increase of requests - and am guaging the community's thoughts on the matter, whether it would be considered fair.

Many forums do not allow name changes at all. And voluntary temporary bans are quite rare outside of Apricity.

Armenian Bishop
02-20-2015, 01:36 AM
I've never once requested a name change, or temporary ban. I probably won't request a temporary ban. If I ever change my user name, then my payment of "fees for services" would carry the weight of those who regularly use the luxury of multiple name changes.

Marusya
02-20-2015, 07:31 AM
Sure. Another forum I belong to has VIP memberships. A five dollar membership is good for 2 years, a ten dollar membership is good for 5 years, etc. For one hundred, I think the membership lasts for eternity. :D VIP membership perks include the ability to change screen names, access the forum music player, have a larger than normal avatar, etc. Of course, VIP members still have to follow forum rules and can be banned for misbehavior.