PDA

View Full Version : Ancient Greek?

Liffrea
07-29-2010, 04:58 PM
Anyone here know how to speak/read it? Classical languages were not covered when I studied for my degree in archaeology, I’ve often regretted it, reading Homer in Greek would be good.

Groenewolf
07-29-2010, 11:30 PM
I follow a home-study course for it. But my understanding of it is not really that good (yet).

Psychonaut
07-29-2010, 11:55 PM
Almost...

I studied Ελληνιστική Κοινή in college in tandem with New Testament critical analysis.

Osweo
07-30-2010, 12:12 AM
There's plenty of dusty old primers from the 30s in second hand bookshops, going for about 50p, you know. I have a few books myself; just never got round to it.

I'd say Latin was more useful to one of an archaeological bent in this part of Europe though...

Arrow Cross
07-30-2010, 12:31 AM
What's more intresting; how much of it would a modern Greek understand?

Liffrea
07-30-2010, 04:01 PM
Originally Posted by Osweo
I'd say Latin was more useful to one of an archaeological bent in this part of Europe though...

But probably not if you wish to read Homer in the original.:D

Originally Posted by Arrow Cross

I would have thought considerably more than a Modern English user would understand Old English, I’m working through an OE course and a text of Beowulf at the moment, I don’t know whether it’s “hard” as the only languages I’ve looked at in the past were French at school and later on German, which I intend to take up again at some point. It is challenging, though.

Foxy
08-10-2010, 12:02 PM
I've studied it for 5 years at the classical lyceum and I made the final exam to obtain the degree with a translation from old Greek. Let me forget that nightmare......

Foxy
08-10-2010, 12:03 PM