PDA

View Full Version : Surprising finds in your family tree

Marusya
08-12-2015, 10:19 AM
What surprises have you found about your family while doing genealogical research?

I've been working on my mother's family tree. I recently found the connection from America to Ireland on one branch of the tree, with a surprising religious faith. I am related to a family (Barton) that immigrated from Ireland to America, and the surprise is that they were Quakers! I didn't even know there were Quakers in Ireland until now. I didn't even know my family had a connection to Quakers. This is the biography of one of my earliest great-grandfathers.

Isaac Barton

Birth: 1680
Killaloe, County Clare, Ireland
Death: 1721
Chester County, Pennsylvania, USA

Isaac was born c1680 in Killaloe, County Clare, Munster, Ireland, the son of Christopher and Dorothy Barton and married Sarah Vesey on 6 Dec 1705 in Munster, Ireland. He was a blacksmith by trade.

Killcomonbegg Meeting, county Tipperary, Munster Providence Ireland. Tipperary Meeting of Friends:
"Isaac Barton of Killaloe, son of Christopher and Dorothy Barton of Killaloe married Sarah Vesey daughter of Tobias and Ann Vesey of Limerick 6th day 10th month 1705."

Children with Sarah:
1) Abraham Barton (b: 1706), m: Lydia Simpson.
2) Isaac Barton Jr (1708-1746)
3) Elizabeth Barton (b: 1710), m: John Harling.
4) Mary Barton (b: c1714)
5) Jacob Barton (1716-1762), m: Henrietta Biggs.
6) Rev Joshua Barton Sr (1718-1779), m1: Jean Dubart, m2: Widow Susannah (Griffith) Dodd. (I am related to this guy, too.)
6) Benjamin Barton (b: c1720)

Isaac and his family left Ireland on a Certificate dated 16 May 1714. They were received into Pennsylvania meeting on 29 Oct 1714. They requested membership into Chester meeting on 29 Apr 1715.

US Quaker Meeting Records, 1681-1994
Philadelphia Monthly Meeting, Arch Street
Certificates of Removal, 1681-1758, Pg 92: