PDA

View Full Version : boadicea's results from Mcdonald :)

Boudica
07-20-2011, 03:50 AM
This is very interesting, it seems to plot a lot with the French, tell me what you all think about the results, I am very new to all of this and would love your insight :)

"Most likely fit is 50.4% (+- 15.2%) Europe (all Western Europe)
and 49.6% (+- 15.2%) Europe (various subcontinents)
which is 100% total Europe

The following are possible population sets and their fractions,
most likely at the top
Irish= 0.639 Tuscan= 0.361
French= 0.524 Hungary= 0.476
English= 0.603 Romania= 0.397
Spain= 0.250 Hungary= 0.750

This looks French or one of the combos listed above.
The average spot on the map is usually accurate."-Mcdonald

http://oi52.tinypic.com/2qn03mh.jpg
http://oi53.tinypic.com/ixw7dd.jpg

Peasant
07-20-2011, 04:03 AM
It's the Italian EDIT: Or Sicilian? pulling your marker into the French I think. Doug said 'looks French or one of the combos above', so

Irish= 0.639 Tuscan= 0.361

sounds the closest to your ancestry?

Beorn
07-20-2011, 04:22 AM
As with them all, they don't distinguish between the British Isles.
You are probably more French as my arse is mixed race.

Odoacer
07-20-2011, 04:36 AM
More French than I! :eek: ;)

Although as we discussed, this doesn't necessarily indicate French ancestry. Keep in mind, too, that the French - like the Germans - are a fairly diverse group. It's best in these cases not to make assumptions unless there is confirmed documentation. If you know of any French ancestors or French surnames, that would be a real starting point.

Boudica
07-20-2011, 04:45 AM
More French than I! :eek: ;)

Although as we discussed, this doesn't necessarily indicate French ancestry. Keep in mind, too, that the French - like the Germans - are a fairly diverse group. It's best in these cases not to make assumptions unless there is confirmed documentation. If you know of any French ancestors or French surnames, that would be a real starting point.