PDA

View Full Version : How would you redraw the European borders?

Pages : [1] 2 3 4

Stars Down To Earth
12-07-2011, 07:34 PM
As we all know, the map of Europe has changed a lot in the last 100 years, with the rise of nation-states and all that.

What changes in borders and alignments would my fellow Apricians like to see in Europe and surrounding areas, to solve past injustices and create a true and lasting peace?

(This thread is meant to be mainly focused on Europe, but you're free to do hypothetical border changes all around the world if you feel like it. :tongue)

Gamera
12-07-2011, 07:38 PM
Ever since I studied about the Byzantine Empire at high school, I've though Constantinople should be given back to Europe. As for internal European borders, I'm not the one to judge. ;)

Sikeliot
12-07-2011, 07:40 PM
I like Europe exactly as is.

http://www.freeworldmaps.net/europe/europe-political-map.jpg

Argyll
12-07-2011, 07:42 PM
I, obviously, would like to see more countries in the British Isles. But other than that, I like it the way it is :)

Joe McCarthy
12-07-2011, 07:48 PM
Any border changes should be made peacefully or not at all, and that is an unlikely scenario so they'll probably stay the way they are, however imperfect they are.

It's impossible to devise a settlement that'll make everyone happy. Currently the status quo is maintained and malcontent, wannabe aggressors contained by the threat of NATO air power. Hope that continues.

Stars Down To Earth
12-07-2011, 07:52 PM
Don't be a bore, Joey.

Of course, any border changes in Europe or the rest of the planet will send political shockwaves and possibly cause wars.

But we're talking ideally. If you could change any national borders at will, and have enough power to make those changes, what would they be?

Logan
12-07-2011, 07:57 PM
I like Europe exactly as is.

http://www.freeworldmaps.net/europe/europe-political-map.jpg

It has worked well with little trouble for some time now.:cool: