PDA

View Full Version : What does Basque sound like to you?

Comte Arnau
03-01-2012, 11:31 PM
e7SeP2lHp0M

D9Dw2t_EEyM

Damiăo de Góis
03-01-2012, 11:42 PM
Foreign and imperceptible :p
The news ladies have a too obvious castillian influence, which is a pitty because it changes somewhat what original basque might have sounded like. On the song that's not true though, not sure why... maybe it has to do with regional differences?

Comte Arnau
03-02-2012, 12:04 AM
Foreign and imperceptible :p
The news ladies have a too obvious castillian influence, which is a pitty because it changes somewhat what original basque might have sounded like. On the song that's not true though, not sure why... maybe it has to do with regional differences?

The news presenter has a totally Standard Unified accent. The singers have a dialectal pronunciation. I'd say it is Gipuzcoan Basque, but I'm not an expert.

Sikeliot
03-02-2012, 12:05 AM
Sounds like Castilian Spanish phonetics with completely incomprehensible words.

Damiăo de Góis
03-02-2012, 12:05 AM
The news presenter has a totally Standard Unified accent.

That's the standard? Ok...

leisitox
03-02-2012, 12:09 AM
Normal spanish phonetic with unknown words :D

Comte Arnau
03-02-2012, 12:10 AM
When you say phonetics you refer to the sounds or the intonation?

leisitox
03-02-2012, 12:15 AM
When you say phonetics you refer to the sounds or the intonation?

Well, the intonation and sounds are equal. But with unknown words instead.

askra
03-02-2012, 12:25 AM
It sounds like an incomprehensible spanish, in particular in the first video.

Treffie
03-02-2012, 10:28 AM
I once showed an acquaintance what Basque sounded like. Immediately he said Spanish, but without any knowledge of both languages. To me, there seems to be obvious Castillian intonation, so I wonder what Basque sounded like before the influence of its neighbour.

Prince Carlo
03-02-2012, 10:38 AM