PDA

View Full Version : Is It New, Or As Old As Mankind?

Oresai
11-25-2008, 05:45 AM
The following is a Scottish news story. What struck me first, was that I`m so used to reading about thuggish teens doing the deed, so it was a surprise to see the attacker was a smartly dressed forty year old.
Then in my usual trawling through the online morning papers, I saw at least three other instances of attacks on vulnerable folks.
What that made me think was, we tend to view violent crime as more prevalent nowadays. But is it? Surely unprovoked attacks on people have been happening since humanity began? Isn`t it just a case of, we have more available media in order to report such things now?
I`d be interested to hear if others really believe that violence is increasing?
I studied archaeology, one thing that was apparent is that humanity has always been warlike. Conflicts, for whatever reason, took part in every age of mankind, somewhere around the known world. And on a smaller scale, personal conflicts happened too...family feuds, drunken brawls, fights to the death born of greed, lust or hatred..whatever the reasons, many we`ll never know, they did happen.
In the history of the nations of Britain, one can see varying degrees of violence throughout, and view through archaeology and documented historical tracts, how well or badly prepared for such things the common man was. There are periods in history where brutality was the norm and the peasant had none or little recourse to justice. Where many people were forbidden to defend themselves, in fact, in the face of aristocratic whim....
and many times also where the common man preyed with depressing regularity upon one another, a cesspit of discordance and territorial posturing quickly forgotten as the next generation rose and took up arms in the name of their own, often petty, causes.
The world can seem a frightening, brutal and hostile place. (well, yes, in fact it often is :) )