PDA

View Full Version : Stars Try to Energise Slovak Voters

Poltergeist
06-08-2009, 08:29 AM
Stars Try to Energise Slovak Voters (http://www.amren.com/mtnews/archives/2009/06/stars_try_to_en.php)

Giant chickens, pop stars and celebrities have all been recruited to end Slovakia’s record as the EU’s most apathetic country.

At its first-ever Euro elections in 2004 the turnout was just 17%. So on 6 June the big question is whether the voters can lift their country off the bottom of the table.

Among the candidates is sitting MEP Peter Stastny of the centre-right SDKU party. He is a former ice hockey star who captained the national team to their first Olympics at Lillehammer in 1994. He says the record low turnout should be a matter of shame to the Slovak people, and is in favour of celebrities on the candidates’ list.

“Absolutely we welcome this,” he says. “You know we’re being asked many times what we’re doing to make sure we don’t finish last. And I say I’m a professional athlete, I hate to be last. I would do anything.”

Breaking the mould

African-born singer and comedian Ibrahim Maiga is running for the left-wing SDL party. He is a well-known figure, whose infectious humour and songs about his homeland Mali may well boost support for his anti-racist campaign.

“I don’t think Slovak people are racist,” he says. “I really want to fight this election just to show Europe that Slovakia has a great future in Europe. If I’m elected and for the first time in history a black man represents Slovakia that’s going to be obvious to all of Europe.”

There is no obvious single reason for the Slovaks’ reluctance to vote. It is certainly not because of public dislike of EU institutions. On the contrary, recent polls suggest they have more trust for the European Parliament than in any other member state.

Robert Hajsel, head of the Slovakia office for the European Parliament, suggests this contentment may explain the low turnout.