PDA

View Full Version : Intermittent fasting

Fylfot
07-20-2012, 12:14 PM
Anyone here practising intermittent fasting? I've been practising it for 2 months now and without any exaggerations, I think it is the best "diet" for me.

"Intermittent fasting (IF) is a pattern of eating that alternates between periods of fasting (usually meaning consumption of water only) and non-fasting.
There is evidence suggesting that intermittent fasting may have beneficial effects on the health and longevity of animals—including humans—that are similar to the effects of caloric restriction (CR). There is currently no consensus as to the degree to which this is simply due to fasting or an (often) concomitant overall decrease in calories, but recent studies have showed support of the former[1][2] Alternate-day calorie restriction may prolong lifespan[3]. (IF and CR are forms of Dietary Restriction (DR), which is sometimes referred to as Dietary Energy Restriction (DER).)
Scientific study of intermittent fasting in rats (and anecdotally in humans) was carried out at least as early as 1943.[4]
A specific form of IF is alternate day fasting (ADF), also referred to as every other day fasting (EOD), or every other day feeding (EODF), a 48-hour routine typically composed of a 24-hour fast followed by a 24-hour non-fasting period."

Unlike many other diets, IE doesn't lead to loss of musclemass or to feelings of hunger. Any opinions?

rhiannon
07-20-2012, 12:38 PM
Describe your typical eating pattern over a period of say....two weeks....just to see what you are meaning by intermittent fasting.

I have heard some of this same data as well.

Fylfot
07-20-2012, 01:18 PM
First week: