PDA

View Full Version : North American cuisine recipes

Frigga
04-18-2009, 01:13 AM
This is my chili recipe, that I've been making for the last, oh 15 years! :eek: It is an excellent recipe, and never fails to garner me compliments! :wink

Chili:
1 pound hamburger
1 onion, diced
Some cooking fat; olive oil, butter, lard, tallow, you get the idea
1 14 ounce can diced tomatoes
2 14 ounce cans of beans, 1 kidney, 1 black
2 6 ounce cans of tomato paste
1 cup frozen corn
1/3 cup brown rice
1 tablespoon paprika
2 teaspoons ground cumin
1 teaspoon cayenne pepper
Sea salt to taste
Fresh ground black pepper to taste

Drain the beans in a strainer and run water over the beans to rinse off the canning liquid. Very important, this rinses off a lot of the sugars that will contribute to gas. Brown the meat and onions in a saucepot with the cooking fat until crumbly and brown. Add the tomato paste first, then the canned tomatoes, and rinsed beans, and corn, and rice. Add water to your desired consistency. Add seasonings. Cover, and allow to gently simmer for several hours. The rice needs to be cooked through. It can cook all day. A crockpot also works after the browning process. Serve with cornbread, or biscuits!

:)

Skandi
04-18-2009, 01:18 AM
Interesting I never put the rice in the chilli, and I always use dried beans but apart from that this looks almost the same as my recipe.

Frigga
04-18-2009, 01:21 AM
I put in the canned beans, as that's what most people are familiar with. Glad you like it! :)

YggsVinr
04-18-2009, 01:40 AM
Interesting, I don't think I've even heard of chili with rice as an ingredient before! I tend to add a bit of red vinegar, garlic, and a lot of mushrooms as well (mainly because I love mushrooms!). I'll have to give this a try! Thanks! *loves trying out new chili recipes*

Skandi
05-11-2009, 09:35 PM
Serves 3-5 larger number is with the stuffing, see below!

This was tonight's dinner and it was good!

500g pork mince
two onions
two eating apples