PDA

View Full Version : Ankara

Talvi
12-05-2012, 10:06 AM
Is there anyone here who lives in Ankara?
What do you do there??? Im gonna have to spend some more time here but I find this place to be even more boring than the town I was in in Japan.

Ive already been to the Atatürk mausoleum, Ankara castle and the biggest mosque... is there anything else interesting to see here?? Any recommendations??

Kemalisté
12-05-2012, 01:36 PM
Thanks to the efforts of Melih Gökçek, who has been governing the city for 20 years. :D

I've visited Atatürk's mausoleum several times, other than that I have no much knowledge about the city but I know most people are complaining about it everytime.

Osprey
12-05-2012, 02:34 PM
Why can't you stay fixed in one place?

Cannabis Sativa
12-05-2012, 03:03 PM
First of all hoşgeldin bacım, Ankara was just a little town before the Republican Era, so she had not much history with the exception of Galatians and Hittites.(I'd say sum of two or three villages instead of town) Apparently you can visit Medeniyetler müzesi for the remnants of Central Anatolian antiquity. I was raised up in Ankara for 8 years, but there is nothing special in Ankara so much. I suggest you Çığ Gösteri Merkezi for live-Turkish folk music. These guys are pretty damn good about this. Apart from these you can visit Kızılay-Karanfil Sokak where you can find some interesting books and souvenir anyway.

Talvi
12-05-2012, 03:09 PM