PDA

View Full Version : The Results of Importing Black Students into a College Town

Stegura
12-28-2008, 05:41 AM
The Results of Importing Black Students into a College Town

I am a police officer in the upper northwest and have been a cop for 16 years. Like many in my current community, I came here originally to attend college. Our city is small and predominantly white, and the university population is mostly kids from white, upper middle class families.

Our university tries its damnedest to recruit and attract minorities, but the demographics seem to remain constant. Our local community college is a different story. They have been recruiting athletes from large urban areas for years and have contributed significantly to our community's young black population. It seems for every young black male recruited to play basketball or football, several male friends follow him from his community to ours. Subsequently, there are a large number of young, non-enrolled, unemployed black males living in our community.

One of the most obvious effects of this trend is the ghettoization of one of our older student neighborhoods. In the last twenty years, this multi-square block area has become almost exclusively subsidized housing, attracting the rest of our community's dysfunctional welfare class. This neighborhood abuts our university's east side and still houses many students. The predictable result of this is a significant increase in black on white crime.

These crimes take on several distinct forms. The most prominent are the random strong-arm (or armed) robberies in which a single white student is confronted by a group of black males and robbed. The net gain of these robberies is often only a few dollars or at best a cell phone, however, most are accompanied by an assault of some sort. Many times these assaults result in serious injuries. These robberies occur when some student is walking alone, to or from campus, often through this same area.