PDA

View Full Version : Your Views On Fur?

Oresai
12-29-2008, 10:57 AM
This is an article from the Scotsman online. I`m generally pro fur. I tan sheepskins for a living, so be odd not to be. ;)

But....I do think fur should either be a product of the meat industry, or that folks should learn to hunt, kill, butcher and skin their own. :D (mainly because I`m evil and like to see grown men turn green and faint on occasion, har...:D)

I don`t think fur should be taken from rare beasts, there are other fur bearing creatures with equally suitable pelts and the only reason exotic species are used in the fur trade is for rarity (thus economic) value.
But puppies? Well, I`m a dog lover. If they eat dog meat, fair enough, if not, then someone should make sure they do......
(incidentally, Viking age women made great use of cat fur. :) )

A dozen pups skinned alive to make one fur coat – why China must halt pelt trade

Date: 29 December 2008
By JENNY HAWORTH
A BAN on the "abhorrent" trade in cat and dog fur comes into force in the UK this week. From Thursday, it will be illegal to import, export or sell the fur harvested from millions of cats and dogs slaughtered each year in the Far East.

The fur is used for products ranging from children's soft toys, to coats, trims on clothes, linings in boots, pet toys and rugs. It has been found for sale across Europe, including the UK.

The majority of the cats and dogs are killed in China, where they are kept in cruel conditions and sometimes skinned alive.

The EU-wide ban follows similar legislation in America and Australia, but China continues a thriving trade with some other countries, particularly Russia.

Struan Stevenson, the Scottish MEP who has campaigned for a ban for nine years, said that China needed to act.