The Shanghai Cooperation Organization, a Eurasian political, economic and military organisation founded in 2001 comprising of China, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Russia, Tajikistan, and Uzbekistan, is believed to have started a takeover of the mission of NATO in Asia.

The Shanghai Cooperation Organization has confirmed the draft resolution to initiate four more nations currently observers of the cultural and economic projects as full members of the SCO. The organization currently consists of six countries: Russia, China, Tajikistan, Kazakhstan, Uzbekistan and Kyrgyzstan and the four candidate countries for full member status are India, Pakistan, Iran and Mongolia. The draft resolution also includes the development strategy of the organization until 2025, aiming for the minimization of negative effects of global and regional crises and increase its importance in resolution processes.

Alexey Maslov, the Head of the Higher School of Economics at the University in Moscow, Russia, added his thoughts to the issue with the followşng statement: “The SCO is starting the take over the mission of NATO in Asia. Countries want to become a member in order to protect their interests, because the USA is implementing really rigid politics in Asia. The fact that China is constantly growing intimidates all countries and the SCO guarantees economic relations between China and other countries.”