Dr. Paul Minot

Many of the Public’s Assumptions About Psychiatry are False.

I’ve been practicing psychiatry for 36 years, and I absolutely love my job. I love my patients, my professional colleagues, and my coworkers. I couldn’t be happier with the work that I’ve chosen. But I have come to the conclusion that I am participating in the biggest scientific scam of this era.

Many billions of dollars are spent each year in an industry built on a corrupt body of pseudoscience, that has been maintained and exploited by monied interests for decades. This audacious scientific fraud has been more successful than any other of our day.

The assumptions of the general public are that we psychiatrists have a good understanding of how the brain works; that we can diagnose distinct disease states, of which we have some pathophysiological knowledge; and that we can prescribe treatments, usually medications, with full awareness of how it is that they benefit us. But every one of these assumptions is unequivocally and demonstrably false.

We have no idea how the brain executes the higher functions that generate thought, emotions, or behavior–all of which are the focus of psychiatric treatment. With the exception of a few distinct syndromes that were identified over a century ago, psychiatric diagnosis nowadays is a slippery process of vague boundaries and symptom checklists–negotiated by a committee every decade or so, with the assistance of moneyed interests, who are hopeful that new “indications” for pharmaceutical treatment will be generated.

That “chemical imbalance” you’ve heard about? There is absolutely no scientific evidence that it exists. It’s just a made up story to explain and market the benefits of psychiatric medications; and nowadays psychiatrists won’t even admit that they concocted that trope, even though we did.