Why I’m studying a creative subject, and why you should too

As students across the country pick up their A-Level results, Jennifer Igiri fights the corner for creative subjects, and why they’re worth the time, money and hard, hard work...

Now, more than ever, people are searching for security.

The desire to pursue what you really enjoy can be overshadowed by the need to do something that’ll pay the rent, and the bills, and the self-pity parties you’ll no doubt be hosting.

It’s one thing to think about student loans, debt and all that fluff, but you’ve also got to take into consideration the fact that you might not even get a job as soon as you graduate. If you really want to achieve, you’ll have to work twice as hard. So you might as well channel that energy into something you enjoy…

You have two options really. If your creative pursuit is important enough for you to want to make a career out of it, then you can either put in the hard work now, or you can do it later. But you will have to do it. Some people choose to get stability and security first. They choose to study other subjects (or not go to university at all), and then once they’re married, with kids, and ‘financially stable’ they decide to rekindle their long-since-dead creative passions. Why wait until then? Give yourself a head start in what you really want! Would you rather spend a few years doing a job that you don’t like right after you graduate to subsidise your finances; or spend years and years silencing that creative bug inside you? Working an average-in-every-way nine to five that you didn’t have your heart set on in the first place?